First draft

IMG_0579I had a landmark moment last week when I finished the first draft of my second novel.

Ok, let’s just pause and savour that moment…

…Now let’s move on to my friend’s reactions when I announced this;

“Great, so do we get to read it now?”
And
“So, is it with the publishers?”

While I am touched by the faith my friends seem to have in my ability, I’m afraid the answers are “no” and “no.”

That’s because it’s just the first draft. (In professional parlance, ‘the crappy first draft’).
While I don’t plan to spend the next decade painfully ekeing every nuance from it, I do want to create something to be proud of.
Some authors are very good ‘first drafters’, I’m not. Perhaps that may come with practise but for now that first version is all about getting the story out of my head and on paper. That process is when it really starts to take shape and I get to know my characters.
It’s also where at some points I walk through the mundane drivel that you don’t want to read about, but I need to get straight in my head;

“Peter walked over to the fridge and pulled out a beer, then spun round and whipped a revolver from his pocket.”

Hang on, the fridge needs to be over there on the left so he can pull the gun from that pocket without the door getting in the way… and hang on, it’s the middle of the day – should he really be drinking or have I just discovered something I didn’t know about my character..?

Believe me, you do not want to read through pages of my conversations with myself (and if you do, that’s probably the point where I need to start edging quietly from the room).
IMG_0600

So my next plan is to put this baby to bed for a while and to pull the skeleton of my first novel off the shelf where it’s been faithfully guarded by Matilda the cat and start to apply some flesh, blood and muscle…
…And probably skin, skin would be good too.

This entry was posted in Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to First draft

  1. Kirsten says:

    Omigosh, I loved your snippet. 🙂 What a weight off my shoulders to know that I am not the only one that talks (well, technically writes… ) to myself in the middle of my story.
    Congratulations on finishing the draft, and have fun revising!

    Like

Leave a Reply

