Resolutions (and retrospectives)

It’s the first Wednesday of the Year!!

And the first Wednesday of the month is when the…
IWSG Badge…founded by Alex J Cavanaugh, blog about their hopes, dreams and fears. Click here to add your name to the list and join in…

When I started to write this months IWSG blog post, I figured it made sense to talk about my writing resolutions for the new year.

I got as far as my first resolution ‘Don’t give up’ and found I’d written an essay on how sometimes it feels it would be so much simpler to just give up on something that matters rather than facing the pain of putting yourself out there.

See, there I go again.
You don’t want to hear about that and I don’t want to bang on about it.

So I decided instead to take a retrospective look at my achievements from last year.
Here they are;

• Completed Holly Lisle’s ‘How To Think Sideways’ writers career survival course (there’s a lot of awesomely useful stuff in there)
• Started this blog (which was terrifying)
• Joined IWSG (which has been humongously useful in both blogging and talking to other writers)
• Joined a local writers group (actually meeting and talking to other writers in the flesh! I have finally stopped expecting someone to tap me on the shoulder and tell me they meant the other Angela)
• Had a piece of flash fiction published (woo hoo!)
• Completed the first draft of a novel. (Ditto)

Then I listed my resolutions for this year;

• Don’t give up
• Stick to the plan.

I can do that…

This entry was posted in IWSG and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Resolutions (and retrospectives)

  1. Chrys Fey says:

    Those are great achievements, Angela! I like your goal of not giving up. Not giving up is so important because we won’t get where we want to go or meet our dreams if we give up. 🙂

    IWSG Co-host

    Like

  2. Juneta says:

    I like the plan. Great achievements. You Go Girl!
    Juneta at Writer’s Gambit

    Like

  3. Hi Angela!
    Thank you for visiting my blog yesterday!
    Actually meeting and talking to other writers in the flesh is the one thing I LONG for… you are so lucky! But at least I have my online writer buddies…
    Good luck with your goals!
    Yes you CAN do it!
    Always remember that you have a wonderful support system in the IWSG members who you can turn to for help – they’re THE MOST supportive bunch I’ve ever met!

    Writer In Transit

    Like

  4. Kudos to you! It’s an old, simple saying but “don’t give up” is probably the best thing a writer can do if they want to be successful. Good luck to you this year. I hope you accomplish everything you set your mind to.

    Like

  5. I’m thinking those two resolutions right there are spot on, and way to look back and count the amazing things you did do. I think too often we get trapped in the what-I-didn’t-do realm of thinking. Dangerous place to be. =)

    Hey, do me a favor and throw your blog link onto your google profile. That would be hugely helpful in finding you again. Nice to meet you, btw! (Unless we have met before and I’m suffering from pregnancy brain…)

    Like

    • Angela says:

      will do 🙂 I’m still finding my way on some of the blogging sides of things so knowing to do things like that is useful thanks.

      Like

  6. How very smart of you to appreciate what all you’ve done! As writers, I don’t think we give ourselves enough credit. We’re too busy thinking of a best seller to appreciate that we are doing something few people ever have the determination to do.

    Like

    • Angela says:

      Why thank you 🙂
      It took sitting down and listing it to actually realise that I’d achieved something – it’s good to take a step back and take stock

      Like

Leave a Reply

