Talking a good story

I’ve been a bit lax on the blogging front lately and here we are at the first Wednesday of the month again. I missed my IWSG post for April as we were smack in the chaos of the Easter holidays, so here we go for May.
Don’t forget, the first Wednesday of the month is when the

IWSG Badge…founded by Alex J Cavanaugh, blog about their hopes, dreams and fears. If you want to join this merry band of writers Click here to add your name to the list…
The awesome co-hosts for this month are Eva Solar, Melanie Schulz, Lisa-Buie Collard, and Stephen Tremp!

It’s so difficult to talk about your work in progress isn’t it? Sometimes it’s still brewing in your mind, so it’s not so easy to come up with a glib answer about it’s genre or theme (or any glib answer at all for that matter – believe me, if I had access to a time machine I’d spend most of my time popping back to give myself smart and witty comebacks).
Someone recently recommended not discussing your novel at all, as we all have such fragile egos that the merest tilt of an eyebrow can crush our aspirations.
Discussing it with a friend later I said I rather liked this idea, it is, after all, a huge ‘get out’ for those of us who are a bit backwards at coming forwards, although there is still a point when you do have to talk about it.
“Yes,” said my friend, “but nobody needs to know which story you’re talking about.”
Genius! I thought. I can witter away for hours making up all sorts of tosh while my baby stays safely tucked away at the back of my mind until I’m ready to bring her out in all her buffed up spiffy glory!

What do you think? Do you prefer to wrap your story in cotton wool until you’re ready to face the world with it, or are you brave enough to expose it to the slings and arrows of outrageous commentary?

This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Talking a good story

  1. melanie schulz says:

    I used to talk about my work all the time. My daughter called it my fourth child, but I really don’t anymore. Not that I’m afraid the excitement will go away, it’s that I can read faces. I know my friends/family are sick of hearing about it.

    Like

    • Angela says:

      Oh that’s so sad! 😦
      I know the feeling though – I have some short stories that my husband stopped beta reading for me as he’d just become numb to which version it was…

      Like

  2. Juneta says:

    I used to talk about my writing to my roommate. She wrote too, in fact, we have written stories together before. Now probably not, except for my online my friends, they wouldn’t get it anyway, unless it was a finished product.

    Like

  3. Anna says:

    I talk with other writers if and when I talk at all about my writing. Yah, I’ve been burned too and tend to keep quiet until the work is done and I need a beta reader or two for feedback.

    Anna from Elements of Writing

    Like

    • Juneta says:

      I think we have to be careful who we share with, unless its finished or ready for beta readers. I find others can steal my excitement about a story, if I allowed it, because it my creative baby. The wonderful thing about the online writing community is everybody gets it and your excitement.

      Like

      • Angela says:

        ‘stealing excitement’ – that’s a good way to put it. Like an unwitting succubus! You need to keep all that excitement and intention within the balloon and not let anyone pop it.

        Like

  4. Beyond critique groups, my novel has been under wraps so long it’s an embarrassment to discuss, so no, I don’t volunteer information….and if someones asks, I say little. My husband and one friend have heard a lot though, a nice outlet I’ve appreciated a lot!

    Like

  5. I might talk about it with my wife, test readers, and critique partners, but otherwise I don’t mention it. Especially not to non-writers. They can be the worst.

    Like

Leave a Reply

