IWSG – Story middles

What part of a story do you find the trickiest?

Today is the first Wednesday of the month, when the

IWSG Badge…founded by Alex J Cavanaugh, blog about their hopes, dreams and fears. If you want to join this merry band of writers Click here to add your name to the list…
The awesome co-hosts for this month are; Nancy Gideon, Bob R Milne, Doreen McGettigan, Chrys Fey, Bish Denham, and Pat Garcia!

I’m trying to get a story into shape for a fiction blog hop on the 26th August, (see the yellow badge on the sidebar).
I have a beginning and an end, but it’s the middle that’s giving me trouble.

The middle. That area containing all the critical parts of a story – heart and lungs all wrapped around with a supportive structure.
Trouble is, there’s some flab that needs to be trimmed off to give it that svelte, streamlined physique that allows the reader to travel effortlessly from the beginning to the end.
Whilst at the same time not removing that crucial pound of flesh that keeps it alive.
(And, because it is the Summer holidays, also trying to reach my keyboard around the small person who’s just climbed onto my lap and started talking at me!)

How do you keep your stories in shape?

This entry was posted in IWSG. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to IWSG – Story middles

  1. Chrys Fey says:

    The middle of a story can be tough. I like to create detailed outlines before I begin writing. If I know the beginning and end, I can usually come up with things to happen in the middle that can link the two.

    Good luck with your short story! And thank you for signing up for my newsletter! ๐Ÿ™‚

    IWSG co-hostWrite with Fey

    Like

  2. Bish Denham says:

    Short stories are harder for me to write than novels… I guess you’ll have to decide how you want to get from the beginning to the end and figure out what kind of road you want your characters to travel to get to the end: rutted, super highway, back country road…

    Like

  3. Juneta says:

    I find middles hard too, usually in figuring out enough “interesting action toward plot goal” to carry it to the ending. Beginnings and endings are easier to figure normally, because I see the whole story idea in terms of an overall concept, often born from an idea of a scene or characters,

    I like this book about writing from the middle. It is about novel writing, but same principals can be applied to shorts and flash too, IMO, lol Write Your Novel from the Middle by James Scott Bell

    The other one I like is Beginning, Middles, End, in the Elements of Writing series

    I have every confidence that you will get it done and it will be a great story.
    Happy Writing,

    Juneta @ Writer’s Gambit

    Like

    • Angela says:

      Aww thank you ๐Ÿ˜‰
      I’ve heard of James Scott Bell before, I think I’ve got him down on a list somewhere.
      My problem is having too many bits of info I think I need to include and trying to decide what stays and what goes.

      Like

      • Juneta says:

        The advice most often given to me, when I say that is—BE RUTHLESS, but save what you cut and if you need something you still have the info. They say it hurts, but often actually improves the story and makes it more immediate. The next thing is knowing when its done, letting go, before you do too much editing and send it into the world. Its a process lol, but you become more confident doing it, even if it does not get that much easier.

        Like

  4. It’s a different kind of story that I’m not used to writing, so I’m having trouble keeping everything together. When I do finish this draft it’s going to take a major, major revision to put everything back in order, whereas I was hoping that this second draft was going to at least be at a point that I could hand it to a few people to get their feedback.

    Like

Leave a Reply

