IWSG: Wool – or The Parable of the Headless Bunny

Today is the first Wednesday of the month, when the…

Insecure+Writers+Support+Group+Badge

…founded by Alex J Cavanaugh, blog about their hopes, dreams and fears. If you want to join this merry band of writers Click here to add your name to the list…
The awesome co-hosts for this month are; Lauren Hennessy, Lisa Buie-Collard, Lidy, Christine Rains, and Mary Aalgaard

Two years ago I made an impulse buy. I spotted these ‘knit-a-toy’ packs at the supermarket and my creative urges got the better of me. “Great,” I thought. “The kids’ll love those.”

But when I got home I discovered that they weren’t the beginner kits I’d naively assumed. What the hell was ‘ss’? How did you knit, let alone purl?!

Unfortunately the kids had already spotted them, so I couldn’t stick them in a cupboard and forget about them.

Luckily, there’s this thing called ‘Google’ and better yet, ‘Youtube’.

IMG_0616Yep, there are tons of Youtube clips from these really helpful people showing you how to cast on, knit, purl… and explaining what stocking stitch is.

So, I taught myself to knit. And although my first attempt was a bit bodged and uneven, I finished it and Jason loved it.

I was feeling pretty confident when I started the fluffy bunny for Frankie. But then I discovered the evils of thin needles and fluffy wool.

Imagine something you’re not very good at, and then imagine having to do it in a darkened room with your elbows tied together. (Ok, depending on what you’ve imagined, some things will be more manageable than others, but I’m sure you get the picture).

I stopped.

Occasionally over the next two years, (when I got the big-eyed look and the wistful “When are you going to finish my rabbit?”) I’d take it out again and attempt IMG_1397a bit more. But it was painful progress.

Then before Christmas (the looks were getting more mournful), I made a concerted effort but didn’t get there in time, and with the lack of a deadline I slacked off again.

But the end was in sight. I’d got this far –>

Frankie took to carrying it around – a headless bunny, after all was better than no bunny at all – and this rather gruesome reminder spurred me on to finish the dang thing.

Ta da! IMG_1405

 

So what, (if you’ve made it this far), does this have to do with writing?

Well, if I can take something I have no experience of, learn it, complete it and end up with a happy customer, then just think what I ought to be able to do with something I’m good at!

This entry was posted in General, IWSG and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to IWSG: Wool – or The Parable of the Headless Bunny

  1. Karen Lynn says:

    Back in my day, we were lucky if all our bunnies were missing was the head. I knew one kid… all he got was the foot. The FOOT And he was glad to get it, too.
    But you’re right. If you can teach yourself to make a bunny, your books should be amazing!

    Like

  2. That is a good looking bunny. Your words must be gorgeous.

    Like

  3. Angeline says:

    That’s an amazing story! Well done! Every year I promise myself I’m going to learn a new craft and that all my family will get homemade Christmas presents. It still hasn’t happened! Mind you, last Christmas a lot of my family did receive my first paperback for Christmas, so I did, in one way, achieve my goal. I just need more hours in the day!

    Like

    • Angela says:

      more hours in the day – more days in the week – or a time turner, that’d be quite useful!
      Well done on being able to hand out your paperback as Christmas presents though, I’m still working towards that one

      Like

  4. Cathrina says:

    Good Post!! If we work hard enough, persevere, we might achieve it. Or better yet, we will achieve it!!!

    Love the bunny!!!

    Like

  5. Good job. They’re adorable. I knit, but I’ve never done anything that elaborate! And, yes, each challenge and success boosts our confidence to do more, in any area!
    Mary at Play off the Page

    Like

  6. I love the headless bunny! I enjoyed the analogy as I’ve also tried my hand at knitting and found it a struggle at first, but persevered and was able to produce something that didn’t look like a complete mess after some practice.

    Like

  7. Way to go! I’m definitely not a knitter. I tried needlepoint when I was young and really got into ceramics, but that was enough. Those toys are absolutely adorable. True keepsakes. My other creative outlet is music. I’ve composed so many songs, but it’s been years since I did so on the computer with the intent to share. Recently the hubbs got me a microphone so I can begin recording again. I’m a bit terrified, but it will come together–just like your bunny. I know it will. The end product will be worth it.

    Like

    • Angela says:

      weird moment of synchronicity – I think we were writing on each other’s blogs at the same time!

      Aren’t the things that terrify us often the most important? Good luck πŸ™‚

      Like

  8. Love it! And the bunny is adorable (much better with the head ;)).

    Like

  9. Good for you! I have never tried to knit anything but if I did, it would probably be the most horrific (and laughable) thing you’d ever imagine! I agree with you about putting forth that time and effort towards something we’re good at. Great lesson for us all.

    Like

  10. Juneta says:

    Love it. Headless bunny. Turned out great. Great post. I like the confidence in your ending. You go and yes you can!
    Juneta @ Writer’s Gambit

    Like

  11. The bunny is adorable! And you’re right. Perseverance is key. πŸ™‚

    Like

  12. The headless bunny! Way to go on not giving up. I might have with a project like that.

    Like

  13. Michelle says:

    Cool! Great job–although the headless bunny *is* awfully funny. Now you have a new skill. Knitting was a a fad for a minute when I was in college, but I never tried it. I’ve been learning to and cooking more and more these days and I like it because it’s creative, but also because I get to eat the results πŸ™‚

    Like

  14. I love that bunny!
    …and Parable of the Headless Bunny could also be a story-waiting-to-unfold…
    That would be a double win!
    Happy IWSG Day! πŸ™‚

    Like

  15. Both are so cute, I am so impressed. I have tried and I cannot knit. My daughters taught themselves (because I couldn’t) and they are amazing!
    Sit down and write!

    Like

  16. Anna says:

    It took me over twenty years to cross stitch a Christmas stocking for my son. Slow and steady sometimes is worth the look on their faces. πŸ™‚

    Anna from elements of emaginette

    Like

  17. Writing is very much like that. Sometimes it just a matter of putting effort into a story to get it done, but sometimes it is a matter of timing if it gets done. Maybe you are not who you need to be to finish it now, and must wait, or things come together in life to make it possible to finish.

    There is something else to be said for working on a project that gets little to no results, and keep on it until it gets what you want. In this case, a completed rabbit, that ends up looking different (different is cool).

    For me was my Worldbuilding series. For the first 6 months, I did a lot of hard work into it and next to no one looked at it, now, I get views every single day just for that alone. I stuck with it, as you did with the rabbit.

    Like

  18. You bet! If you can make a bunny that well, you can produce an awesome story.
    I rather like the headless one. All he needs is a carved egg head.

    Like

Leave a Reply

