Back in the Chair

I’ve been coasting for the last couple of weeks.
scrumpled notesIt’s not like me. Usually I can’t wait to get the pen on the page.
A couple of weekends away may have something to do with it. That can affect the flow, but it often provides ideas as well as the need to get back in the chair.

I think it’s linked to rejection. Even though I’d been expecting it (because my child-like optimist is quite well balanced by a realistic pessimist), it still affected me.

Let me explain.

If you read my blog from a couple of weeks back, you’ll know I submitted the first two chapters of my novel to the Bath Novel Award.
As you can probably guess from the lack of shouting, I didn’t make the longlist. 😦

There were a lot of entries, and the BNA tweets were positive even about the ones they turned down. But how much of that was spin and whether I came in at 51 or 1051, I’ll never know.

Coupled with this, I’ve had a short story consistently turned down. Actually twice. That’s pathetic now that I put it in writing. The story was shortlisted in Writing Magazine and as well as good feedback, even the rejections were, “Not what we’re looking for, try elsewhere” rather than “Burn it”. So I suspect this is bruised pride more than anything. I just need to figure out a home for it.

Anyway, for some reason I’ve spent the last two weeks procrastinating. Is that a form of writer’s block? I don’t know, fortunately I’ve never suffered from it and even if it is, it’s only a very mild form because I’m coming out the other side.

Oh yes.

I’m back to my 30 minute timed stints, I’ve finished a short story and I’m about to tackle some crit feedback on chapters 3 and 4. Although every time I look at it, I think of something else to do.

But I’m getting in there. I’m back in the chair and the timer is on.
…although, maybe I should just make a cup of tea first…chair

This entry was posted in General, Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Back in the Chair

  1. Juneta says:

    Hey you are collecting badges of honor and getting practice. Glad you are pushing to get groove back.
    Juneta @ Writer’s Gambit

    Like

  2. D J Mills says:

    My first point is writers have to develop a thick skin.
    My second point is I also struggled to understand feedback when I first sent my stories out. What I now understand is your story feedback was good, just not what the editors were looking for at this time. πŸ™‚ Nothing negative there.
    Next point, there are more publishers out there, and Heinlein’s rules say keep sending each story out until it is sold. I might add, “until it is sold to a reputable publisher with good contract release clauses after a certain time” If it does not sell, format as an eBook and upload to all distributors. πŸ™‚

    I would like to suggest you wean yourself off crits by other writer who are not as advanced as you are on your writing journey, because their suggestions will not help to improve your story. Just send to one beta reader (who is not a writer) for feedback before publishing. Then publish your story so readers can discover and read, while you are writing the next story. πŸ™‚

    I know, easier said than done, but it can be done. Good luck with the next story. πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. This is probably the toughest aspect of what we do. On some level, we must be gluttons for punishment (or crazy). Aw, hell. Probably both. But thankfully, our desire to do what we love always wins over those stupid and most certainly inaccurate feelings of doubt brought on by rejection. I’m glad to hear that you’re back at it. Fingers crossed for all your stories finding the right home soon.

    Like

Leave a Reply

