IWSG June: Sleeping Beauty and Time Travelling

Today is the first Wednesday of the month, when the…

IWSG Badge

…founded by Alex J Cavanaugh, blog about their hopes, dreams and fears. If you want to join this merry band of writers Click here to add your name to the list…
The awesome co-hosts for this month are; Murees Dupe, Alexia Chamberlynn, Chemist Ken, and Heather Gardner!

I’m time travelling this month. I actually wrote this post two weeks ago as right now I’m in a tent in Wales. (Probably not as close to the Hay Festival as I’d like). And I really hope it’s not raining!

I also have no idea if the campsite has wifi, so although I’ll try my best to visit your blogs, I may be late and (bearing in mind I’ll probably be interrupted by children every time I try to comment), I may not be coherent!

I’ll also be distracted as it’s the 1st of June.

“What’s so special about the date?” you ask.

Let me tell you: It’s the day that The People’s Friend Special no.124 is published, with my story, ‘Sleeping Beauty’ in it.

Yay! Not the first time I’ve been published, but the first time I’ve been paid for it! And possibly the first time for readers rather than judges or other writers, and that’s really important to me. Because that’s why I write (or at least, one of the reasons). Not to impress or be worthy, but to entertain.

I hope I’ve achieved that today.

This entry was posted in General, IWSG and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to IWSG June: Sleeping Beauty and Time Travelling

  1. Karen Lynn says:

    Congratulations on your publication! I’m so excited for you!
    Hope you’re having fun in your tent. Love tents. Especially like the ones with sold, steel beams, rooves and airconditioning. Those are the best.

    Like

  2. I hope you’re having fun and you’re not getting rained on!

    Congrats on the publication! That’s exciting!

    Like

  3. Juneta says:

    Congrats on being paid to write. That is huge, so proud of you. Have fun camping.
    Juneta @ Writer’s Gambit

    Like

  4. Hannah Brown says:

    Aww congrats! That’s so fab!
    I love tenting so I’m quite jealous right now when I’m stuck in front of all my work!

    Like

  5. Congrats on getting paid for your work – that’s fantastic! I do like tent camping, but not when it’s pouring down rain. Hopefully the weather was nice for you.

    Like

  6. Congrats! I know how excited you must be. Here’s to many many more paid published stories. Whoop!

    Like

Leave a Reply

