A-Z of Fictional Characters: F is for Fisher

img_2340Namely Isobel Fisher from Simon R. Green’s, Beyond the Blue Moon.

By the SPOILER ALERT!

If you don’t like spoilers, best not to read beyond here. (Having said that, it’s not that much of a surprise and if you’re anything like me, it might be the hook that makes you want to read more.)

Made it this far? OK. So this is where we discover that Hawk and Fisher, from Haven of Lost Souls, aka the only two honest cops in Haven, are also… dah dah dahhh! Prince Rupert and Princess Julia from Blue Moon Rising.

Ever wanted to know what happened after your heroes rode off into the sunset? Well in this reality, they wound up fighting crime in the back end of nowhere, where the worst deadbeats and magic users fetch up. But now, to stir things up even more, someone from their old life has come looking for them to help sort out the mess back in their old kingdom.

Fisher is the kick-ass heroine I needed in my 20’s; tough, battle-scarred, wise-cracking and a bit crazy.

Now? I think I’ve out-grown her, and that makes me a bit sad. Maybe I’ve read too many books (is that possible?!) Or perhaps writing can’t help but give you a different point of view. She just seems too obviously a foil for Hawk’s battle-weary, more level headed hero (or anti-hero). It might even just be my feminist principles rebelling because she’s a sidekick.

Even now, re-reading this post, I want to go back and give her another chance. Maybe I will, I wasn’t even a quarter of the way through when I put the book down. I might not have been in the right mood – I might have had too many others nagging from my to-read pile to give it enough justice, or maybe the concept of her is better than the application. If that’s the case, I should learn from that. If I do go back, I’ll let you know.

Do you have any heroes that don’t quite cut the mustard?

This entry was posted in A-Z of Fictional Characters and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A-Z of Fictional Characters: F is for Fisher

  1. emaginette says:

    Not too many, but I do love my superheroes. 🙂

    Anna from elements of emaginette

    Like

Leave a Reply

