#IWSG December: What next?

It’s the first Wednesday of the month again when

IWSG Badge
…founded by Alex J Cavanaugh, blog about their hopes, dreams and fears. If you want to join this merry band of writers Click here to add your name to the list…
The awesome co-hosts for the December 7 posting of the IWSG are; Jennifer Hawes, Jen Chandler, Nick Wilford, Juneta Key, JH Moncrieff, Diane Burton, and MJ Fifield!

Before I continue, (and because I know everyone is itching to know), Yes! I completed Na-no!
I rocked in on day 30 with just over 50,000 words of a novel.
That novel still isn’t finished and I need to crack back on with it today as I feel as if I’ve spent the last week catching up with the stuff I didn’t get done in November because I was concentrating on Na-no! (Hey ho, one step forward…)

But it was a great experience, and if you want to know more you’ll have to check out my last post as that probably said everything that needed to be said.

Meantime, it’s IWSG day, and this month’s question is; In terms of your writing career, where do you see yourself five years from now, and what’s your plan to get there?

Ok, sitting comfortably? Then off we go.

First, let’s backtrack to five years ago. Back in 2011 my aim was probably ‘to be published’, and perhaps also subconsciously ‘to feel like a writer’.

I’ve done that now. I’ve had stories published on-line and in magazines. I’ve become a member of two ‘real-time’ writing groups as well as some on-line communities, and I’m a lot more comfortable talking to friends and family about my writing. It’s much easier to say ‘I write’. (Not quite there with calling myself ‘an author’ yet though).

I know I’m still on my journey. There’s a long way to go, but I’m more confident of the terrain.

In another five years? I’d like to be a published novelist. (And perhaps it’d be nice to be able to stand up and say, ‘My name is Angela and I’m an author’.)

Now, I could do this tomorrow. I have two novels written and another on the go. I could load them up onto KDP or whatever platform of my choice and send them out into the world.

But I won’t. Because they aren’t ready yet. I know they don’t need to be perfect (I could spend the rest of my life procrastinating if that were necessary). But I have to feel confident that they are as good as I can possibly make them, so that in a further five years I’m not cringing and wondering what on earth possessed me.

So, my plan?

Keep doing what I’m doing; writing, learning, growing (that’s growing my writerly presence, not my waistline!) I’m learning that it’s good to not have too fixed a plan, because things never work out quite like you expect, and it’s good to be flexible.

What about you? Where do you see yourself in five years?

This entry was posted in IWSG and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to #IWSG December: What next?

  1. miladyronel says:

    Sounds like you know where you’re going πŸ™‚ Best wishes for your writing.

    Like

  2. Oh, I hear you! I’m in the midst of post-NaNo catch-up too. Haven’t cracked my still-unfinished novel since Nov 30. Really must get on that…

    In the next five years, I’d like to be making a living from fiction. It doesn’t have to be an amazing living, just a living, so I can let all my non-fiction and other writing-related jobs go for good! I’m working on it. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. patgarcia says:

    Congratulations!!! on NaNo and go for it. Head toward that publishing author line. You will succeed.
    All the best.
    Shalom aleichem,
    Pat G

    Like

  4. Fantasitc achievements, Angela and I look forward to that day when you can shout it out, ‘My name is Angela and I am an author’. It will be here very soon so hold on tight πŸ™‚ Have a fabulous December and congratulations on completing the NaNo!!

    Like

  5. Congrats on NaNo! I feel like I’m still catching up on life after last month’s NaNo madness. I think I’m going to steal one of your ideas and add a goal that in the next five years I’ll feel like I am a writer and comfortably tell people that.

    Like

  6. Take your time and make those stories the best they can be. Not perfect of course, because that can never be.
    Congratulations on beating NaNo.

    Like

  7. Wow! Congrats on the NaNo success. I haven’t done that yet . . . not even in five years to I plan to! You are an author, but I get it. I’ve been on a similar path as yours over the last five years, too. I’d love to share the “Author of the Year” award with you in five years! Maybe, you think?

    Like

  8. emaginette says:

    Congrats on Na-no. You must feel great getting the job done. hehehe
    My 5-year plan is to keep writing and let it take me where it will. It may be boring, but it’s all mine.
    Anna from elements of emaginette

    Like

  9. Juneta says:

    Congrats on NaNo. Proud of you getting yourself published. You go! I don’t know that I feel like a writer yet or not, some days I do and some days I don’t. I know I am not comfortable talking with friends and family about it yet. I’m still growing too.
    Juneta @ Writer’s Gambit

    Like

  10. Congratulations on WINNING nano! That’s huge.
    I’m not sure if people ever feel like “a writer” or “a doctor” or “an astronaut.” It might be one of those goals that always stays ahead of you, and keeps you moving. I always have a little of that “let’s hope no one notices I’m a fraud” left over at the end of an accomplishment.

    Like

  11. cgcoppola says:

    Planning is important but not necessarily the best thing. Things happen the way they’re supposed to, and sometimes it doesn’t jive with your current plan.

    I hope you find your books are ready to be published soon, but only you will know! Congrats on NanoWriMo and good luck with your projects πŸ™‚

    Like

  12. Lee says:

    “In another five years? I’d like to be a published novelist.” Yes, exactly my goal. But you, my dear, have already earned the designation of “author” so grab it and go!

    Like

  13. Nick Wilford says:

    Congrats on NaNo! It sounds like you’ve got a solid plan in mind for the future. As long as you’re learning new things then you’ll always be moving forward.

    Like

Leave a Reply

