#IWSG June: Failure IS an option…

…but it’s up to you what you do with it.

The first Wednesday of the month is IWSG posting day.

(That was yesterday.)

As you’ll notice, I failed to post yesterday. I needed to reboot and catch up with some zzz’s. I feel much better for that today.

I didn’t have anything in mind to talk about until I saw this morning’s news:

Yesterday, Sweden opened a Museum of Failure, highlighting some epic fails and how those attempts led to further innovation.

That’s brilliant. If I ever make it to Sweden it’ll be top of my list to visit. Failing that (see what I did there?) maybe someone could open one here in England?

You see, I’m a fan of failure. I’ve gone on about it before, because it’s failure that leads you to try again. To see where you went wrong the first time and to improve. If we all got things right the first time, things would be pretty stale.

Have you built on the ashes of your former failures? What were the results?

The co-hosts for June’s posting of the IWSG are; JH Moncrieff, Madeline Mora-Summonte, Jen Chandler, Megan Morgan, and Heather Gardner!. Do stop by and visit their blogs to say hi.

IWSG Badge
The IWSG was founded by Alex J Cavanaugh, where writers can blog about their hopes, dreams and fears. If you want to join this merry band of writers Click here to add your name to the list.

This entry was posted in IWSG and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to #IWSG June: Failure IS an option…

  1. emaginette says:

    Probably my writing career is based on failure… so far πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. I’m still learning how to admit that something is a failure quickly and move on faster. I am getting there, and I don’t feel as though I MUST revise everything just to get the experience out of it, anymore.

    Like

  3. Juneta says:

    There is a quote I love that says I did not fail, I just found 100 ways that did not work. Don’t remember who said it. Happy IWSG

    Like

  4. I would visit that museum!
    No worries on a day late.

    Like

  5. Lee says:

    I think the quote Juneta is looking for is from Edison – one of my favorites, as well. β€œI have not failed. I’ve just found 10,000 ways that won’t work.” – Thomas A. Edison. I depend upon my failures to make me more successful in whatever endevor I undertake. But I’m especially trying to get those first one million crappy words down so I can move on to the next million!

    Like

  6. Ellen says:

    What a great idea for a museum. I’d love to visit that one day too.

    Like

  7. jmh says:

    In case you don’t check blog replies, thanks so much for voting for my cover AND for putting my books on your TBR list! I really appreciate it.

    That museum in Sweden sounds awesome! As for failures, I could literally write a book on that. Perhaps I will. πŸ˜‰

    Like

Leave a Reply

