#IWSG July: So, what has the IWSG ever done for me?

It’s the first Wednesday of the month, which means it’s time to blog about the Insecure Writers Support Group.

You might wonder, sometimes, if the IWSG is for you. There have been times when I have. Why am I bothering? I’d think, I don’t really feel that insecure, and Actually neither do a lot of these other people…

Well, here’s what it has got me:

Back when my blog was a mere fledgling twinkle in cyberspace, it gave me a purpose in blogging at least once a month.

Visiting other blogs gave me practice in talking to other writers online. Often, we can be too polite, and even though we might read someone’s post, we won’t like to say anything because we don’t really know them. A blog hop like this encourages interaction and, over the last few years I’ve blossomed from a terrified vanilla blogger to the chatty waffler you see now.

As a result of the IWSG and a couple of other online groups, I’ve made contacts around the world that people in my hometown writing group don’t have.

If you’re new to this, you need patience. These things don’t fall into your lap all at once; You talk to people and some will talk back. Gradually you realise that you have ‘regulars’. Eventually, what started out as speaking alone into the void becomes engagement across the ether.

So, what has the IWSG ever done for you?

The co-hosts for July’s posting of the IWSG are; Tamara Narayan, Pat Hatt, Patricia Lynne, Juneta Key, and Doreen McGettigan. Do stop by and visit their blogs to say hi.

The IWSG was founded by Alex J Cavanaugh, where writers can blog about their hopes, dreams and fears. If you want to join this merry band of writers Click here to add your name to the list.

This entry was posted in IWSG, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to #IWSG July: So, what has the IWSG ever done for me?

  1. Juneta says:

    Ditto. Joining IWSG is one of the best things I ever did for my blogging life and writing life.
    The investment of time is well worth it.
    Juneta @ Writer’s Gambit

    Like

  2. emaginette says:

    A wonderful lesson I also learned. πŸ™‚

    Anna from elements of emaginette

    Like

  3. Megan Morgan says:

    The IWSG has done so much for me too! It has definitely made me a better blogger, and helped me be part of a community of writers who share my struggles and fears. It’s wonderful.

    Like

  4. yvettecarol says:

    Yes, I couldn’t agree more. I was put onto the IWSG a number of years ago by Candilynn Fite, another member, and she was right, it gave me the confidence to venture out into the blogging world. Isn’t it fun! πŸ™‚

    Like

  5. raven avery says:

    I am just starting out but I’m glad to see that it does pay off, at the minute it’s just nice to know that I am in good company πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

