#IWSG Oct: Actually I’m not so sure…

I didn’t post for the IWSG during August and September because it was the school holidays and life was a bit full on.

As a result, I was dropped off the list – that happens if you miss two months as it’s (fairly) assumed that you’ve left the group.

For a while I prevaricated about signing back up; it’s a bit like when your car insurance comes up for renewal and you try to decide whether to automatically renew or to shop around.

Well, I started to write a post about deciding to quit for a while… but then I realised I’d miss those monthly prompts and interactions with writer buddies around the globe. I’d still visit some, but the monthly blog hop was always a reminder and nice way to check in on what’s going on in other people’s lives.

So, I’ve signed back up. Not because I’m insecure (at the moment anyway), but ‘coz I like the support. I guess absence does make the heart grow fonder πŸ˜‰

I’m interested to see what it’s like being back at the end of the list. I was within the first 100 before and now I’m all the way back at 227, although I can see a few familiar names nearby. Will it be a bit like moving house? I’ve got new ‘neighbours’ now – who’s coming round to borrow a cup of sugar? (does anyone really do that? In my experience they’re more likely to tell me I’ve parked in the the wrong space!)

Anyhow, thanks for stopping by. Feel free to look around, just be careful of… yeah – that was the cat, she likes to pretend to be the carpet >rolls eyes<

Oh, and before you go, don’t forget to visit this months co-hosts; Olga Godim, Chemist Ken, Jennifer Hawes, and Tamara Narayan!

And if you’d like to join this merry band of writers, you can sign up to the list here (we could turn out to be neighbours!)

This entry was posted in IWSG and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to #IWSG Oct: Actually I’m not so sure…

  1. Debbie Johansson says:

    A similar thing happened to me earlier in the year. I was taken off the list and not sure as to the reasons why. But I put my name back on the list simply because as you say, it keeps me writing, blogging and meeting other writers around the world. So welcome back Angela, it’s good to meet you! πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. It’s good to see you back again! (And to move one slot upward.) I had a friend in school who would go ’round to neighbors to borrow things she ran short of. It absolutely horrified me, the first time I was cooking at her place, and we ran next door to get something, instead of to the store! In retrospect, I think it was an economic thing–no money for stores–and within the particular community, it was just fine, as long as she brought a slice of whatever she was baking back to the person who loaned her (sugar, flour, etc.)

    Like

  3. Jennifer Hawes says:

    Glad you came back! We are a unique group of writers. Hope you get lots of words in this month!

    Like

  4. Mandy says:

    Knock, knock. πŸ™‚

    Actually, I clicked through to your blog simply because it was at the end of the list. I always think the newbies might need a little more support than the oldies. Glad you got to enjoy your time off, and I don’t blame you in the least for slacking. Hope your first month back is fantastic! πŸ™‚

    Also, would you mind moving your car? I think you parked in the wrong space. πŸ˜‰

    With Love,
    Mandy

    Like

  5. Patsy says:

    Maybe you’re not insecure right now because you know you have the support of this group, should you need it?

    Like

  6. Loni Townsend says:

    Welcome back! IWSG is a good way to keep tabs on the bloggoverse, isn’t it. I know that’s how I meet a lot of people. πŸ™‚

    Like

  7. Sorry we had to dump you, but I’m glad you signed up again. For a lot of writers, this is the one time a month they can post and share with other writers. So welcome back!

    Like

  8. emaginette says:

    I’m glad you’re back. You were missed. πŸ™‚

    Anna from elements of emaginette

    Like

  9. Stephanie Scott says:

    The list itself is so much shorter than in years past. I wonder about the longevity of the blog hop given so many have moved on from blogging and use other forms of social media in place. Like you, I can’t seem to quit this community. Call it nostalgia, but I enjoy keeping up with a few of the regular bloggers though I myself rarely blog anymore.

    Here is my October IWSG post

    Like

  10. Juneta says:

    Glad you are back. I came by and visited and liked or comment even in the most you did not post just cause I miss you when you don’t post. Glad you are getting back in the groove.
    Juneta @ Writer’s Gambit

    Like

  11. Glad you’re back, Angela. I’m back too. It’s so comforting to be around like-minded writers. Happy IWSG.

    Like

  12. Welcome back! I like to check in and see how everyone’s doing and every so often you learn something new or find out about a good opportunity, so I think it’s worth my time.

    Like

  13. Glad you’re back! Summer is often hard for me, and my blogging gets sporadic.

    Like

  14. Lee says:

    Welcome back! I love bouncing around to the different IWSG blogs – there is so much talent and support in this group!

    Like

  15. Agnes Deglon says:

    Great you came back! I probably would not have seen your blog otherwise since I start with the latest people joining : ) and I can’t go through 200+ blogs. Summer is crazy and good here too!

    Like

  16. Olga Godim says:

    Don’t drop out. It is not as much about insecurity as it is about connections. And writing a short post once a month (or even just copying the IWSG home page, as some writers do) keeps you on the list and in the loop.

    Like

  17. Hi Angela!
    I like the way you’ve compared your addition at the end of the IWSG list as ‘moving house’…and it’s so true that you’ll meet new β€˜neighbours’… strike up new writerly friendships – that’s exciting! πŸ™‚
    Enjoy the refreshing view from your new ‘location’!

    Like

  18. mlouisebarbourfundyblue says:

    Hi, Angela! Welcome back! I enjoy going from blog to blog on IWSG Day. It’s fun to meet new people and to touch bases with familiar friends. There is a lot of great support here. Happy writing in October!

    Like

  19. I’m glad your back. Love the fact that we need to look around for the cat πŸ™‚

    Like

  20. Nick Wilford says:

    Welcome back! Hope you have fun getting to know your new “neighbours”.

    Like

  21. chemistken says:

    Just keep plugging away and you’ll move up on Alex’s list in no time. You’re right, the interaction with all the other writers is worth jumping back into the group.

    Like

Leave a Reply

