#IWSG November: The best bits

It’s the first Wednesday of the month again when

IWSG Badge
…founded by Alex J Cavanaugh, blog about their hopes, dreams and fears. If you want to join this merry band of writers Click here to add your name to the list…
The awesome co-hosts for the November 2 posting of the IWSG are; Joylene Nowell Butler, Jen Chandler, Mary Aalgaard, Lisa Buie Collard, Tamara Narayan, Tyrean Martinson, and Christine Rains!

This month’s prompt is: What is your favourite aspect of being a writer?

This is tough because I have so many.
Lets see… I get to shape my dreams and fancies into stories for other people to enjoy. There, that’s probably the meat of it. I love getting an idea down on paper and watching as it takes shape from this collection of concepts in my head to something with heart and soul.

Also? I get to talk to other writers – people who get it when you talk about plots and characters, who understand when you more interested with what’s going on in your head. (Although even then I sometimes get the odd weird look).

I’m Nano-ing for the first time ever this year. I was always a bit scared to before – didn’t quite know what to expect, how to go about it, as usual worried about the ‘small print’. But once I took the plunge, I shook off that concern: that’s it, I’m in now, for good or ill. I’ll do what I can and even if I don’t quite make the full 50,000 word target, I hope to learn a few things along the way. New techniques for focusing, perhaps lose a few time-wasting habits, who knows? Check in this time next month for an update!

Oh, and before I go, last week I joined a group of writers for a Hallowe’en Story-time blog hop. Some of them were fellow IWSG-ers, so if you’d like to check our stories out, you can find them here.

And if you’d like even more stories, I will also be taking part in this year’s Indie-Author’s Advent Calendar, where on each day of Advent, you can receive a new 1,000 word Christmas or Winter themed story. If you’re interested, you can sign up for it here; adventcalendar.katharinagerlach.com

This entry was posted in IWSG and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to #IWSG November: The best bits

  1. Wish you much luck with NaNo!

    Like

  2. Good luck with NaNo. It can be a lot of fun.

    Like

  3. Good luck with NaNo. I tried it and failed last year. I signed up again this year, but I’m still not sure if I’m going to do it. Considering it’s Nov 1st, I suppose I should decide soon 🙂

    Like

  4. I love those aspects of being a writer too. Good luck with NaNo! I can’t participate but I’m cheering everyone on. 🙂

    Like

  5. Stephanie Scott says:

    How exciting–your first Nano! You will probably have an easier time than many if you’re already used to writing. My first Nano I’d never tackled fiction before! I was a writer in experience with blogging and journalism, but knew zilch about story crafting. Good luck!

    Here’s my IWSG post for November: YA Author Stephanie Scott

    Like

  6. I did my first CampNaNo in July and won!
    I think it’s less stressful than the November NaNo which I haven’t attempted yet…maybe one of these years I will… 🙂
    Thanks for the links.
    Good luck with NaNoWriMo!
    Happy IWSG Day!

    Like

  7. Best of success with NaNo, Angela. Let us know how it went, okay? I’ve never done one.

    Like

  8. Best of luck with NaNo! It’s such a fun experience 🙂

    Cheers,
    Jen

    Like

  9. Wow! I love the idea of the Advent Calendar. I’m going to have to check that out.
    Best wishes with NaNo!

    Like

  10. I think the beauty of NaNo is less in achieving 50,000 words and more in carving out a better way to get words on paper. Plus, the energy is contagious. Good luck!

    Like

  11. Good luck with Nano! I’ve done it at least three times successfully. You can do it!

    Like

  12. ooh! Some very cool things going on.

    Way to go, jumping in with NaNo. I tried it twice, and the one for script writing too. The script one turned out okay, the others were trash. I concluded it works for some people, not for others, but you have to try it to know if it works for you.

    Like

  13. The Advent Calendar is a cool idea.
    Good luck with NaNa. I’ve beat it before and I’m a very slow writer, so I know you’ll do great.

    Like

  14. Liesbet says:

    Losing a few time-wasting habits is a great start! I should definitely follow suit with that one! Good luck with NaNo month!

    Like

  15. Diane Burton says:

    Good luck with NaNo. Whether you hit 50k words or less, you will be farther ahead than if you didn’t.

    Like

  16. Juneta Key says:

    Well apparently the problem with being able to comment is with my WP logon. I logon with Google sign on and can post. Congrats on NaNoing. This is my 4th years.

    Like

  17. Our stories are the stuff of dreams and a wondering mind. Good luck with NaNo.
    Nancy

    Like

  18. Great post, Angela. Wishing you much fun with NaNo. I’m full of admiration.

    Like

  19. Angela Wooldridge says:

    Thank you all for your Nano encouragement. I’m finding it really interesting, how it’s adjusting my focus. I’m definitely going to have to do an update post about it. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

