IWSG Feb: Time management

Today is the first Wednesday of the month, when the

IWSG Badge…founded by Alex J Cavanaugh, blog about their hopes, dreams and fears. If you want to join this merry band of writers Click here to add your name to the list…
The awesome co-hosts for this month are; Allison Gammons, Tamara Narayan, Eva E. Solar, Rachel Pattison, and Ann V. Friend!

This week, for the first time I realised that my stack of revision scene cards had dwindled and I was actually well over half way through.

For once my vague aim of completing this pass of revision by the end of February felt like a reality.

“I wonder how many there are?” I thought, and counted them up. “Forty! Why, that’s ten a week! In a five-day-week that’s two a day! I can do that!! In fact, heck let’s aim for three a day and see how we go!”

Now that I’ve actually written that down it seems not only do-able – but a bit pathetic.

Why didn’t I already have something like this in place?

(To give myself a bit of a break here, I do usually have a ‘To-do’ list as long as… well, as long as my hand. But even so!)

Anyhow. You now know my schedule for February (even bearing in mind that one of those weeks is half-term). So check with me next month to see how I fared. Hopefully I’ll have a completed revision pass and a useful learning point for next time.

How’s your time management doing this month? Any revelations?

This entry was posted in IWSG and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to IWSG Feb: Time management

  1. That’s a great strategy! And, yes, sitting down, making a list, or simply assessing what you have, and your time, can make it seem less daunting. I need to make a schedule for myself. Thanks for this hopeful post.
    Mary at Play off the Page

    Like

  2. Juneta says:

    That’s wonderful Congratulations Angela! Proud of you. You Go. Me I’ve done a couple of blog post and working on short stories, also redoing some world building on novel projects.
    Juneta Writer’s Gambit

    Like

  3. Anna says:

    I have faith you’ll do fine. All that planning can only help with the stress. 🙂

    Anna from elements of emaginette

    Like

  4. With every writing project, I learn something new. Organizing revisions is so tough! Any lesson learned there is valuable!

    I’m writing about social media overload today with a few resource links on how to better focus your efforts: My IWSG post: Stephanie Scott

    Like

  5. All the best for finishing off the revisions. Sounds like you have a solid and very doable plan. Sometimes, plans take a little while to fall into place. Looking forward to your update next month.

    Like

  6. I am having such a difficult time with time management. I really need to sit down and come up with a plan like yours, it makes so much sense,

    Like

  7. I finally finished my latest round of revisions and sent them off for a final edit and proofread. I’m only six months behind my original goal so I’m doing pretty well.

    IWSG February

    Like

  8. Breaking tasks down to bite-sized pieces is a great idea. I have a busy writing month planned. I have several weeks off from my day job so I am trying to finish the first draft of my work in progress by the end of the month. It’s only 1200 words a day so I think I can make it.

    Like

  9. Sounds like you’re on track! Every now and then I have one of those moments when I ask myself, “Why didn’t I think of that before?” Oh, well!

    I keep a fairly elaborate system with multiple notebooks and a daily planner to keep track of everything. There’s a lot going on this month and next as I prepare to launch a book, and I’m working on other projects as well. If I keep it written down, it gets done somehow.

    Like

  10. Nicola says:

    Sounds like things are going really well. A great start to the new year. Congrats!! Have a super February.

    Like

  11. C.G.Coppola says:

    You use cards??
    I love IWSG because it shows me how differently people approach writing. I know a lot of folks use Scrivener, some keep journals or notebooks. I keep everything bundled up and bouncing around inside my head.

    Congrats on being on track! Keep up the good work! 🙂

    Like

    • Angela says:

      I use Scrivener too. tbh, I’m using cards because I’m taking Holly Lisle’s ‘How to Revise your Novel’ course & that’s what she advocates. At least this time through I’ll do everything by the book, then in future will take what works best. But there are times when having something physical in front of you is useful (sometimes a screen just isn’t big enough).
      (ok, just read that back – feel free to snicker about innuendo if that’s how your mind works).

      Like

  12. Sounds like a solid plan, Angela.
    I need to work on my time management in a more structured way. I have a “schedule of sorts.” 🙂
    I think I need to work on a structured writing/revising/editing program.

    Like

Leave a Reply

